User Profiles (Users/Groups Configuration)
Before proceeding, please read the Introduction to User Profiles guide.


User Profiles menu with Workstation Profiles (Passive Logins)

The Users/Groups Configuration tab is where you create and delete user, group and workstation profiles from the CProxy Server database. By default, CProxy uses passive logins also known as IP profiles (For more information about active logins and user profiles click here). In passive login mode, a new profile is automatically generated from the default profile for each new workstation that connects to the proxy server based on its IP address. Once the profile has been created, the user can access the Internet. Alternatively, you can create profiles for each workstation prior to them accessing the proxy server using the method below:

Creating a New Profile (IP Profiles)
To create a new IP Profile, type in the IP address of the workstation for this profile in the 'User Details' field and click the 'Add Workstation' button. A new profile will be created and will appear in the window directly above the 'User Details' field. 

Tip: It is often easier to customise the default profile and then let the system create Workstation Profiles automatically unless you have the need to impose different profiles on different workstations.

Deleting an Existing Profile (IP Profiles)
To remove an existing workstation profile, highlight the IP address of the profile you wish to remove in the window directly above the 'User Details' Field. Click 'Delete' to remove the profile from the database. 

Groups
Groups under CProxy Server can be used when many user or IP profiles need to share the same settings and restrictions. Any changes that are made to the group profile are also made to any profiles that are a member of that group. For example, if 'User1' and 'User2' are members of group 'Staff' and Internet access on a Saturday is restricted on the group profile, 'User1' and 'User2' will no longer be able to access the Internet on a Saturday.

Before you can add a user to a group, you must first create it. Type in the name of the new group into the 'User Details' field and click the 'Add Group' button. The group will now appear with the rest of the user profiles in the left window.

Adding a profile to a group
To add an IP profile  to a group, first highlight the group in the left window so that the 'Current Group' window on the right changes to 'Group Selected - Your Group Name'.  You should then highlight the profile to be added to the group and click the 'Add' located next to the Group Members window. The profile will now appear in the Group Members window.

Removing a profile from a group
Remove a profile from a group by first selecting the group from the window on the left, selecting the profile to be removed from the 'Group Members' panel on the right, and clicking Delete.

To switch from passive logins to active logins, click Enable Login.

Return to Index